SpurvComing soon

Spurv and Finch, side by side

Finch is a lovely app that millions of people use, and it inspired Spurv. Here’s an honest look at how the two differ, including where Finch is better. Peter made Spurv, so read it knowing that.

At a glance

SpurvFinch
Price$1.99 onceFree, or Finch Plus: in-app purchases from $5.99 to $69.99
Everything included, no subscriptionYesPartlyFinch Plus adds extras
Works without an accountYesPartlyNeeded for backups
Your entries stay on your phoneYesPartlyBacked up to Finch’s servers (encrypted) with an account
App Store privacy labelYesCollects nothingPartlyLinked to you: user ID, device ID; also collects your entries, usage and email
No data shared for advertisingYesPartlyAd measurement with Facebook, Amazon and TikTok unless you opt out (Mozilla, 2023)
A pet that grows with youYesPip, in 3DYes
Mood check-insYesApple’s seven-step scaleYes
Saves moods in Apple HealthYesIf you turn it onNot statedNot in its App Store listing
Daily goalsYesThree a dayYes
Reflection promptsYesWritten on your iPhoneYes
Breathing exercisesYesThree patternsYes
Mental health quizzesNoNo, on purposeYesAnxiety, depression and more
Friends in the appNoYes
Home Screen widgetYesYes
Other devicesPartlyiPad, no Android yetYesiPad, Vision Pro, Android
App languages12English only

Pick Finch if …

You want lots to do every day: quizzes, insights across your entries, friends you can send good vibes to, and a big, friendly community. Finch is on Android too, and much of it is free.

Pick Spurv if …

You want your moods and reflections to stay on your iPhone, in your own language, with everything included for $1.99 once instead of a subscription that can reach $69.99. Spurv can also save your check-ins in Apple Health.

Where Spurv falls short

How this was checked

Checked on 2026-10-24 from Finch’s App Store page (US and Denmark), Apple’s own app data, Finch’s account FAQ and its Google Play page, plus Mozilla’s 2023 privacy review of Finch (Mozilla has since retired those reviews; the link goes to the archived copy). Prices are US App Store prices. “Not stated” means we couldn’t confirm it, not that Finch lacks it.

Spurv isn’t on the App Store yet. It collects nothing: the app has no network code, so its privacy label will say Data Not Collected.

Apps change often. If something here is out of date, write to support@spurv.theill.com and it gets fixed.

Sources